First Line Friday – A Home For Hannah

Happy Friday everyone! Welcome to another First Line Friday hosted by hoarding books! I don’t know what’s happening in your neck of the woods, but in mine it’s snowing. A LOT! We’re talking a foot or more of snow expected. I don’t know about you, but I’m kind of sick of these big snow storms we’ve been having! The only plus is having hot chocolate and reading a book.

Speaking of which, today’s first line comes from Amy Lillard’s latest release. A Home for Hannah.

Click to purchase

There should have been more – balloons, fanfare, something to herald her return.

 

You see, Hannah is not Amish, but is returning to her Amish family’s home. Here’s more about the book:

Fifteen years. That’s how long it’s been since Hannah McLean set foot in the Amish community where she was raised. Through it all her heart has never forgotten Pontotoc—or Aaron Zook, her first love. Now widowed, and left with little more than her hurting teenager and her prayers, she returns home, even knowing she and her son may be turned away.

When Aaron learns Hannah has returned, he nearly falls to his knees. He’s a strong man, but lately the care of his three motherless children and family land have been more than he can handle. Now providence has delivered the first woman he loved, and with her, the rush of feelings they once shared. But will his simple, removed way of life leave Hannah longing for something more, or can they begin anew, finding a new way forward together?

 

My Perspective

I loved this book. Read it in a day, mostly in one sitting. Hannah reminded me a little bit of the prodigal son. Left the Amish life she knew simply because she got caught up in the world. Finding out that she’s a widow, you obviously feel sorry for her. But as the story continues, and you find out more about her husband, your sympathy reaches a new level. But here’s the thing. Hannah is strong. I loved her interactions with her family upon her return. But the interaction I enjoyed most was with Aaron.

The Amish stories I enjoy most are when Englishers are involved, and technically Hannah is one of them in this book. It’s like the forbidden fruit, Aaron knows he shouldn’t be drawn to Hannah and yet he is. As a reader, you obviously want them to get together, but it’s figuring out how. Should Aaron become an Englisher? Or should Hannah return to her Amish roots? Seeing them interact and figuring it all out was the fun part of the story.

But then, Amy Lillard adds another level to the story and one that I didn’t expect. You get to see the POV from Hannah’s son, Brandon. Seeing the Amish world through his eyes was like experiencing it myself. It was all new to him, and as he took it all in I couldn’t help but connect with him. I would have felt the same way at times, and found this new point of view to be refreshing.

This book is a fast and enjoyable read. Fans of Amy Lillard and Amish fiction fans will enjoy it. I cannot wait to visit Pontotoc again in the next installment! I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 

And now it’s your turn to share your first line! Grab the book nearest to you and share the first line in the comments. Don’t forget  to check out what everyone else is reading at Hoarding Books!

 

grab button for First Line Fridays hosted by Hoarding Books

8 thoughts on “First Line Friday – A Home For Hannah

  1. Happy Friday!

    Today I am showcasing the first line from Michelle Griep’s newest novel, The Innkeeper’s Daughter. I am loving the book. It is a page turner, and the hero is wonderful. I am just starting chapter 18, so I will share the first line from that chapter here:

    “Johanna opened the door to chaos, then stood there, jaw agape.”

  2. Happy Friday! I have this one too read too! I can’t wait!😁

    My First Line Friday comes from a book I will be reading soon, Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak!

    As far back as Sloane McBride could remember, she’d been told she was an ice-queen. Even the people closest to her, especially the people closest to her, complained about her reserve.

    Have a great weekend!😁

  3. The smack of the baseball against an aluminum bat sounded like summer.
    BEANEATH THE SUMMER SUN
    By Kelly Irvin

    1. Love that first line! Probably because I love baseball and I can agree with this statement. Have a great weekend Kay!

  4. Happy Friday! The book I’m sharing on my blog is an old one: The Knight and the Dove by Lori Wick. Here, I will share Love on the Mend by Karen Witemeyer, “Peace and quiet. That’s all he sought.” Have a wonderful weekend.

Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2018 A Baker's Perspective | Design by ThemesDNA.com
top
%d bloggers like this: