No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert Review

Friends, I have to be honest with you. I read this story weeks ago, and I have not been able to write a review that I felt was worthy enough. I started, deleted, started again and deleted again. Then today I kind of came to the realization that there truly no words that express my love for this book. People just need to read it for themselves and let the words penetrate in their hearts.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this book. Please share in the comments!

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Click here to purchase!
Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person?

 

MY PERSPECTIVE

 

This is a book you are going to want to take your time reading. It. Is. That. Good. It is going to rock you to your core, make you question life and your surroundings, and make you look at things in a totally new way. It is a book that book clubs across the world need to take a look at, and then have civil discussions afterward about. It is a book that communities across the world should contemplate on. It is a book that we, as the children of God, should read not once, not twice, but several times throughout our lifetime. To remind us of the good, the bad, and the in between.

Katie Ganshert is not afraid to tackle difficult topics, and thankfully so because they need to be addressed. We’ve all heard the expression that sometimes it’s how you say something that makes the difference? Ms. Ganshert has written this difficult story in the most compassionate and loving way. She has found a way to present the trials of the world in a way that will make you both relate to the characters and feel sorry for them, all at the same time. The presence of God with Ms. Ganshert in her writing of this story is evident on every single page. There were many times I cried, gasped, cheered, laughed, and contemplated life. Every page brought a plethora of emotions that I never saw coming.

I don’t think that any review I write is going to do this book or this author justice. I’m not sure I can formulate the words to share what is in my heart. I love this book. It really is that simple. There were times in this book that I connected with each and every single character. Now, you can judge me if you want, but I’m trying to be honest. There was a moment in each character’s story that I could certainly understand what they were thinking and why. It’s an eye opening read for sure! And I don’t mean that this book is going to point a finger at you because you have had, in your lifetime, a thought that was the opposite of what it should be. We’ve all been there at some point in our life. My point is this – the story presented here is going to make you contemplate how you feel about certain situations. Or perhaps it will open to your eyes about something totally different, like it did me. This book will touch your heart, I am very confident of this. I thought Katie Ganshert had really taken my breath away when she wrote Life After, but this was a totally different experience for me.

This book is real. It is raw. It is life altering. It is a must read. Not only in 2018, but for every year after that. Twenty years from now we should all read this book again and see how far our world has come. See if the same rules apply and the same situations surround us. I’m up for the challenge. Are you?

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Katie Ganshert

Katie Ganshert was born and raised in the exciting state of Iowa, where she currently resides with her family. She likes to write things and consume large quantities of coffee and chocolate while she writes all the things. She’s won some awards. For the writing, not the consuming. Although the latter would be fun. You can learn more about Katie and these things she writes at her website www.katieganshert.com.

 

 

2 thoughts on “No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert Review

Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2018 A Baker's Perspective | Design by ThemesDNA.com
top
%d bloggers like this: